Flip Cup, Cookies & Irene

It’s been ages since I’ve blogged, and for this I am sad.  Between working (oh yeah, that’s right) and maintaining a most-demanding social and extra-curricular life, time has disappeared.  Does that make me sound like a little douchey, doesn’t it?

My comeback blog post today is a tribute to a small group of boys I had the pleasure of meeting only a few weeks ago.  After a debate on the name of my blog and my refusal to share its sacred title, I finally revealed the name Gingermermaid, after several ‘colourful’ and inappropriate guesses.  The flood gates opened for mockery, but all in the name of good fun and good prose.

As per request from my Gingermermaid fan club, this blog has to do with the Flip Cup Tournament of the millennium.

This has been a most interesting week for the DC area, and the whole of the US east coast, really.  Earthquakes and hurricanes, or Hurquakes.  (I have designed a t-shirt to commemorate the week of terror.  Contact me for your “I survived Hurquake 2011” t-shirt.)

Before mother nature had an attitude problem, my friend organized a Flip Cup Tournament.  Let’s be clear what Flip Cup entails:

Equipment

  • 16 oz plastic drinking cups
  • Large table to comfortably fit two teams
  • Alcohol, normally beer, unless you are pro like me, and do wine

Playing

  • Two teams stand on opposite sides of a table, facing one another. The players directly facing are opponents. In front of each teammate is a disposable plastic cup filled with a set amount of beer or alcohol of your choice.
  • It is customary for the beginning players to make a toast, after which the first member of each team drinks the entirety of their beverage. When finished, the cup is placed open side up at the edge of the table, and the player who drank it attempts to flip the cup, by flicking or lifting the bottom until it flips and lands face down on the table.
  • If the player is unsuccessful on the first try, the cup is reset and re-flipped until the task is complete. Only after the first teammate is done flipping successfully can the next person proceed.
  • Whichever team finishes drinking and flipping all its cups first wins usually followed by many cheers and/or expletives.

Amidst all of the chaos outside involving the feisty Irene, 30+ people brought their A game.

Squeezed tightly into an Arlington, VA apartment, storm raging outside, team captains were selected–each player had an in-depth analysis of his/her flip cupping skills–and drafts were made.

Yours truly was not one of the first picked.  I’m sorry to say, I was 3rd to last they tried to trade me for someone better.  It’s true, I’m not that good. In addition, I opted to flip with wine instead of beer.  This made me vulnerable, alcohol content somewhat higher than everyone else, but the more alcohol ingested, the stronger the player I was.

We were team ‘The’ and I shan’t lie, our record wasn’t the best.  After playing 7 different teams, we didn’t win any.  We came close, and we got much better with each game, however, it was not to be.

The party lasted from 3pm till 3am, essentially.  We braved Irene, and ventured to a bar to celebrate Flip Cup victories and defeats.  A successful tourney, complete with a hurricane to top it off.

I also found out that boys are really awesome at making cookies and I am determined to get the recipes for those awesome chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin cookies.  Delightful.

Leave a Reply

