Timing

When I ask people why things didn’t work out in a relationship or job, they often utter this reasoning, “Timing.” This excuse works for being late to a party or work when the metro has delays (everyday), but overall, I think it’s used as an easy out, offering the least amount of resistance and self-reflection.

Perhaps it’s because I know myself, and when I want something, I’ll give everything to it, and whether it fails due to impossibilities out of my control or because I have to depend on someone else to give the same amount and want the same thing, it’s never because of timing. Timing is the scapegoat that cannot defend itself.

As I’ve applied for jobs, interviewed and have come up with nought, encouragement is offered that, “it’s just not the right time and something better will come along.” This is hardly encouraging.

People end relationships and justify their cessation saying, “The timing just wasn’t right.” Relationships aren’t perfect, and they never will be, and whether it’s distance or stress or every other factor that can put a dent in love, the timing is never right but it’s never the reason–make your timing. Love is inconvenient by nature.

Supposedly, a higher power designated us all with choice, if this is so, we make our choices everyday. Cheerios for breakfast or a muffin; heels or flats; karaoke or movie, regardless, the choice, no matter how menial, it’s always ours. Just like I can have a bowl of Cheerios, I will take the muffin–it tastes better. I will also wear the heels because they look better, and depending on alcohol consumption will depend on the latter. I will live with the consequences with higher cholesterol and sore feet, but I will always listen to my heart, no matter the logic in my brain, no matter the external circumstances. I don’t hear “no” and I won’t look at the calendar to determine my decisions.

As nice as this outlook is in theory, it also makes me and the others like me completely stupid. Dashed dreams, broken hearts. Or not? Rather, realized dreams and full hearts. It’s worth the risk.

Ultimately, we write the pages of our story, and “once upon a time” can start and end however we want, but it will start and end on a time–not because of time.

Timing issues only made it all the more interesting for these two

One thought on “Timing

Leave a Reply

