Obsession: The Hunger Games

For those who have taken a bite (bedumchhh) out of The Hunger Games, you already know the word obsession is a fitting category for this captivating book series.

I shan’t offer too many spoilers, I would never dream of ruining this trilogy for anyone especially after my dad and cousin simultaneously destroyed the Harry Potter series for me. Some wounds never heal.

Me: “I wonder if Dumbledore will die.”

Dad: “Dumbledore is dead.”

Me: “What?!”

Dad: Uncontrollable laughter.

Cousin Addison: “Yeah, Snape killed him.”

Me: “What?!”

Dad: Uncontrollable laughter.

Lesson: Family doesn’t care about crushing literary dreams. (At this point I’m assuming everyone has read the Harry Potter series, apologies if I just destroyed them for you too. Bitterness is a difficult pill to swallow.)

Back to topic.

The Hunger Games is actually a young adult series, although incredibly gruesome and dark. This is no Twilight (which was an atrocity), although it is as epic if it won’t be more so, as the vampire series that plagued bookshelves, Kindles, and movie screens alike. Oh, the tragedy Bella and Edward bestowed onto this world!

Suzanne Collins, the author, was inspired to write after watching a reality show on one TV station and then switching to another channel where she saw clips of the Iraqi war. The two concepts blended together and served as a base to the hearty story that is The Hunger Games.

The general premise is that 16-year-old Katniss lives in a post-apocalyptic world, Panem, formerly the great US of A. The territory is divided into 12 Districts, with a mysterious 13th District quelled after an uprising. The government is called the Capitol, located in what we’d consider the Rockies area more or less,  and holds massive power over the Districts. In order to keep Districts from uprising like District 13, the Capitol holds the Hunger Games (dramatic music: dun dun duuuuuun) which is an annual event where one boy and one girl aged 12 to 18 from each of the 12 Districts surrounding the Capitol are selected to compete in a televised battle in which only one person can survive.

Honestly, I can’t even offer any more because the book tells the story best and no magic can escape my fingertips that would be able to even begin to tease someone into reading it. I’ve read it twice through and was equally enthralled the second time around. I don’t even want to share my opinion of the characters, because it’s something the reader needs to figure on their own.

I will share this (am I building this up, or what?): it’s gruesome, it’s disturbing, it’s intriguing, it’s suspenseful, there is love, there is brainwashing, there is political undertones, and it is both satiating and wanting.

Some things to note, Katniss is quickly rising as a top baby name of 2012, it was the best-selling e-book of the holiday season, and there is a movie coming out. Trailer here!

The other books in the series are Catching Fire and Mockingjay. Once the series is finished, the conversation does not. Mixed reviews on the ending, on the writing styles of the various books themselves, and the epicness that is this series, continues on, even as the words do not.

Everyone I know, my mom, my brother-in-law, my brother’s fiancee (I may have planted this seed…muhahaha), my guy and gal friends, and strangers I meet on the street, have read this book. Those who aren’t obsessed, get there and start your literary journey to Paradise, littered with blood and political corruption.

Stay tuned for my next Obsession post: Downton Abbey! (Yes, this is a series, much like the amazing Hunger Games!)

One thought on “Obsession: The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

