Lessons of July

7 months into the year, and I have to say, this month taught me more about myself than any of its 6 predecessors. Although, it was a bummer learning in April that (spoiler alert!) the Easter Bunny wasn’t real. Egg hunts? Never the same.**

July lessons:

  • There is such thing as too much of a good thing–especially when that good thing has alcohol in it.
  • Sleeping does wonders for your mood, work, run, outlook.
  • Health insurance is AWESOME.
  • A manic love life makes for interesting anecdotes, terrible and wonderful lessons, kindling for storybook characters, and the most unfortunate result–personal growth.
  • Social media is not a comedy stage no matter how witty I think my 140 characters (or less!) are.
  • Friends work it out.
  • Much to my dismay, The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) officially declared that mermaids do not exist (exception may be gingermermaid, but this is still up for debate)
  • Figuring out how to use my washer/dryer (after the 7th wash).
  • Living alone rocks. So does peeing with the door open.
  • Dancing in the rain is fun. Losing a $650 phone is not.
  • Technology sucks but sometimes it can save your contacts even when you don’t know you knew how to do that.
  • Red hair isn’t magic hair, it can still clog drains.
  • Finding out I earned my job in part of something politically incorrect and ignorant I said.
  • Putting out electrical fires with water can work but is not recommended.
  • Pregnant women are emotional.
  • 100 degrees is hot, but it makes 80 degrees feel not hot.
  • Beds with lots of pillows can make anyone feel like royalty. Especially if you wear a tiara in bed.
  • I can’t reach my fire alarm, but when I get up there, I will be taking out the battery since I can’t boil water without it going off.
  • Work orders for something broken in the apartment means little elves come in and fix everything.
  • It’s possible that paying off your credit card in one month isn’t possible when you buy more than you make.
  • There is nothing the internet doesn’t know. Especially Google.
  • Wet paper bags do not hold things well, if at all.
  • It’s amazing what one can cook on a budget and how creative one can get with brown rice.
  • Doing everything will give you peace of mind even if you go nowhere.
  • Feeling is great, even when it sucks.
  • Cheesy sentiment should have a side of crackers.
  • X-Men movies only get better with each viewing.
  • Mad skee ball skills deserve to be on my resume.
  • Not everyone will be fans of my blog, but my mom is.
  • I finally have put to rest the whimsical idea to dye my hair blonde.
  • There’s no time like the now to start compilations of short stories, even if it’s only ever read by the author.
  • Having a good family is kind of great, especially when they aren’t pissing you off.
  • Crying is OK when prepared with the proper weapons, like tissues, not cute dresses.
  • Shopping cures most bad days and helps the economy (doing my part, Obama).
  • Obvious jokes are the best.

So, it’s a little hokey, a little sweet, a little stupid, but that’s because I’m a little hokey, a little sweet, and a little stupid. Today I woke up on the right side of the bed (literally AND figuratively) and was happier than I’ve been in a while, because July has been a bitch–full of changes and challenges, freaking hot, and also fairly awesome (in hindsight and reflection). It’s not over, but I’m over it. Tomorrow is Jaulgust 1st for me and I intend to make it count. Crackers anyone?

**NB: Please be advised this blog post contains some shmaltz. Those especially sensitive to this may wish to refrain from the bad jokes and sappy introspection.

One thought on “Lessons of July

  1. Pingback: Going out, sleeping in | gingermermaid

Leave a Reply

