I just saw Star Wars for the first time…ever

As of three weeks ago I had never seen the original Star Wars trilogy.

Dearest readers, I will give you just a moment to process this.

Most people, upon hearing I had never seen these films were like, “Whaaaa…” Then they passed out in a nerd heap in front of me.

I shrugged my shoulders and proceeded on with life.

It wasn’t until I began dating my lovely, epically nerdy boyfriend that it nearly became blasphemous.

At a friend’s party, I met this guy (later to become all mine) who tried this pick-up line, “My dad is George Lucas.”

I remained silent, the moment was awkward, and crickets could be heard echoing through the void of reaction. It didn’t work on many levels: I hadn’t seen the movies and I wasn’t a geek. His dad’s name does happen to be George Lucas, but obviously not the George Lucas. We didn’t hit it off right then…

Growing up, I remember the Star Wars films were always on TV, so I would catch a snippet here and there. I understood the general premise, knew the main characters,  and with enough spoofs out there of notable scenes, I got the gist.

Still, I had yet to sit down, popcorn and cola in hand, to view the movies from the beginning to the end.

Chewie is my favorite...

Chewie is my favorite…

Well, a few more bad pick-up lines later, I’m dating that guy whose father is George Lucas and I’m dating that guy who has seen the saga close to almost too many times and knows the names of all spacecrafts and creatures in the films (during our viewing, he was sure to point out to me which was what, I was like, “EWOKS ARE SO CUTE!!!”).

After we watched the first film together, my boyfriend asked, “Are you thinking how sad it was that you waited 28 years to see these movies and that you’ve been missing out all this time?”

I replied, “No.”

He looked dismayed, so I replied, “…because it’s so nice I got to see them with you. Awwwww!”

I half meant it.

We finished the three original films and I was pleasantly surprised by just how much I enjoyed them. A little campy at times? For sure. Did I totally understand the movie? Of course not, but I’m also still trying to figure out Toy Story 2.

I may be the only person in the world who cried when Darth Vader died. I mean, they were just about to start a father-son relationship! (I realize he blew up his daughter’s planet, but still!)

I shall continue my Star Wars education and watch Episodes I, II, and III. I get that they aren’t supposed to be as good as the originals (according to nerds everywhere), but I’d like to see how it all began and I have no doubt they will be entertaining. I’m jumping on this bandwagon just in time for Disney to attempt to bring out newer ones still.

Now I must decide if I’m going to be Princess Leia for Halloween this year, or Wolverine (because the X-Men rock!)—or a combination of the two. These are the tough decisions I am happy I only have to make once a year.

NB: I’ll probably just end up being a ballerina…again.

Dooo, dooo, dooo, dooo, dooo, doooooooo, dooo, daaah, daaah, daah, daaah, daaah, dum, dum, dum, duuuuum (that was the theme music)

Dooo, dooo, dooo, dooo, dooo, doooooooo, dooo, daaah, daaah, daah, daaah, daaah, dum, dum, dum, duuuuum (that was the theme music)

3 thoughts on “I just saw Star Wars for the first time…ever

  1. I can’t believe this was your first time seeing Star Wars! The movies are my all time favorite! I can’t get enough of them, whenever there’s a marathon on AMC, I am glued to the screen.
    For more information on Entertainment/Current News, please feel free to check out and follow my blog: opendialogue4themassess.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

