When photo ops ruin the moment

The other night I went to a concert of the rock music genre, and noticed something extremely annoying—the camera phone.

Throughout the duration of opening songs and, subsequently, nearly every moment after that, people held their phones up in the air, obstructing views for everyone behind them, to record the event, take terrible photos, and lose themselves in capturing the moment rather than living in it.

This is not OK.

This is not OK.

This is OK.

This is OK.

I blame social media in a large way for this. As soon as the amateur videos and photography shoots are finished, the user goes right to Facebook and uploads the media (all whilst the band is playing). After which, they compulsively check their pages to ensure that people are “liking” and “commenting” on just how awesome that person is at that moment to be documenting the live hipster concert they are at. (I confess, this was at a hipster venue and it was a hipster band, and I am not a hipster, although, that is something a hipster would say.)

I, like anyone else, do like to capture things on video and photos. It feels like it prolongs the moment. But when I start capturing these moments for bragging rights or for the purpose of social media or when I’m photographing more than viewing, I’m losing myself to an ever-increasing digitized world.

At a concert, party, or wedding, it’s important to remember to be present at that event. Take a few photos, for sure, but when the photo ops destroy the mood and momentum of the day, then you aren’t enjoying yourself or capitalizing on the moment. It appears you are only trying to create a great new Facebook profile pic. No one ever looks like their Facebook photo so you are not fooling anyone!

I digress, but Facebook, especially,  just gets to me sometimes!

We go to concerts or live shows because they are live. I can listen to a band anytime on Spotify, Pandora, or old school iTunes, and I can watch a music video on any other streaming outlet I so desire, so when I pay $25 a ticket to go somewhere to see a show, I don’t want to see that show through somebody else’s mobile device. I want to live it and remember it (as much as the alcohol will let me) and just let loose and start the crazy head banging and dancing.

Think about it, when’s the last time someone showed you a “Blair Witch-esque” clip they made with their phone at a show/event and you thought, “that is so interesting” or clicked to view it from their gloating Facebook. It’s almost as bad as pictures of people’s babies…

Oh, and one more thing, to the girls who were taking pictures of themselves in the bathroom (not even in the venue), seriously, get over yourselves because that’s just weird.

2 thoughts on “When photo ops ruin the moment

  1. I’m totally in agreement with you.

    I was shooting an event for a client a couple months back, they brought out a bunch of hot air balloons, some bands…there was food.. It was pretty cool. But I noticed that for the most part every adult was spending the entire time recording the event, and not enjoying it for what it was. I mean, I understand wanting to get a snapshot fo the kids having fun or whatnot, but, we really need to start living life by enjoying the life we’re living and not trying to document it.

    The hot/new concert venue in town (where I saw this show: http://video.pbs.org/video/2280479428/ ) Usually asks people attending shows to keep their phones put away, which is a nice change.

    • I wish they banned more devices from venues!

      Next time you are shooting an event and the people are caught up in “caputring” the moment, you should use a bull horn, water pistol, and throw ninja stars to push some sense into them…

Leave a Reply

