My feline roommate

So…I have a cat. Her name is Pancake.

Since stealing obtaining this cat from my boyfriend several months ago, I noticed a little hitch in my daily routine. Everything I do and everywhere I go within my 800-square feet abode, there is a little kitten invading my space, tripping me up, and making even the simplest of tasks  cumbersome.

I type away at my computer, blogging as I do, when my breakfast-named cat marches onto my keyboard, sits her rump down on the letters, and just looks at me like, “what are you going to do about this?”

Cats and owners that blog together, stay together.

Cats and owners that blog together, stay together.

In the shower, I’m singing the latest hits from the pop charts, and a little face pokes between the curtain, gives me a quizacle look, then just stays there, gazing at me lather, rinse, and repeat. Suddenly, I feel very self-conscious.

Privacy in the shower? Who wants that?

Privacy in the shower? Who wants that?

Practicing dental hygiene is a chore, as that’s when Pancake decides she wants to hang out in the sink, preventing me from preventing cavities.

Pancake: "I'm sorry, were you using this space?"

Pancake: “I’m sorry, were you using this space?”

The creepiest moments are when I wake up and she is sitting like a sphinx on my pillow, watching. How long she does that for I don’t know, but it’s enough for me to wonder what she is pondering.

Hello. I am here. Watching.

Hello. I am here. Watching. Waiting.

Laundry, cooking, vacuuming (she fears this most of all), stretching, sitting, she’s always there…perhaps…plotting her owner’s demise?

I'm laundry!

I’m laundry! Wash me!

Even though she gets in the way from time to time, and tries to jump in the toilet when I’m not looking, hacks hairballs occasionally, and almost gouges my eyes out every 5am morning (weekends included), I can’t imagine a better cat to make my daily life slightly more difficult.

This is how we roll in my apartment. Word.

This is how we roll in my apartment. Word.

Snuggles!

Snuggles!

Leave a Reply

